“But what’s wrong with professionals sharing ideas and opinions and stuff”

This. This is what’s wrong with it, you goddamn morons:

Look, a review is supposed to be a critical, objective blurb written about a product or service in order to better inform the consumer as to whether or not that product or service warrants a purchase. That’s all a review is, and all it should be. It shouldn’t have political bias, and it shouldn’t contain conflicts of interest. Shouldn’t. Contain. Conflicts. Of Interest.

Gone Home is an adventure/story driven “game” in the same vein as Dear Esther. I put game in quotes as it is really only an interactive book, which uses a first person game world as it’s vehicle. It has very few traditional gameplay elements other than wandering around, viewing objects and places and learning about the emergent story. It isn’t awful, but it isn’t a game and even as a piece of interactive media it isn’t anything to write home about. If I had to stick a grading number on there to share my opinion on the product (which I hate doing but for the sake or argument I will) I’d give it a 5/10. That’s my opinion and I’ll stick to it. I don’t stand to make a profit for stating my opinion, I have nothing invested in the product of the developer, it’s a relatively unbiased opinion from a dude who plays a lot of games.

Enter Polygon staff. You not only display a massive conflict of interest when looking at the product, and then try to downplay it in the comments, but you give a mediocre product that really isn’t a video game, a perfect fucking ten score. Think about that for a moment. It’s bad enough that they are allowing that staff member to do the review, but they then go on to tell you that it’s a PERFECT game.

You guys are a fucking joke.

f.

I write nonsense so you don't have to. Although you can if you want...

