Therapy? Therapy.

Troublegum+troubleI am not referring to the northern Irish metal band.

So I had my first session yesterday, it went OK.

Didn’t really gain anything from it as it was just the first session but I left feeling like I had managed to get stuff off my chest to a professional, which stimulated a good mood.

I’ll be seeing her again next week and then on a fortnightly basis until the money runs out. She talked about one to one CBT (cognitive behavioural therapy) techniques that she would like to try on me. I explained that I had tried CBT in the past and it was absolute wank, but I’m willing to give it another go since this time it will be with an actual person instead of ticking boxes on a form or website (avoid a website called MOODJUICE like the plague unless you want your intelligence insulted).

I was as open and candid as I could be with her. I spoke of the depression, the drugs, my disillusionment with the world, everything really. I felt comfortable talking to her so it’s definitely something I want to proceed with. Well, at the moment I do.

So yeah, it was good. We’ll see how long that lasts eh?

f.

2 comments

  1. Good luck! Looks like we’re dispatching around the same time. My guy does psychoanalysis, not CBT, but I think I’m like you — there’s something about CBT that feels insulting, feels like I’m being talked down to. And nothing makes me shut down faster than feeling like I’m being talked down to.

    But if your therapist catches on quickly to your intelligence and your distaste for bullshit, I think that’ll be the key to her success. Good luck. I hope you start feeling better soon.

I write nonsense so you don't have to. Although you can if you want...

