“I don’t agree with you, so you’re wrong!”

People can have disagreements and remain civil.

46471012

Unless it’s on the Internet. Then it’s a case of “FUCK YOU BUDDY, MY OPINION IS RIGHT.”

I’ve been guilty of this in the past myself. I like my opinions and hey, they are right, so why would you want to challenge them? What are you some kind of free thinking individual??

Well because if you don’t have your most valued opinions/morals/ethics/musings (hate that word) or whatever challenged and your mindsets changed every now and then you are going to turn in to a miserable old fuck who perpetuates their own doom and refuses to listen to rational thought that may be contrary to your belief but also, happens to be fucking correct. That’s fairly bad sentence structure right there.

At times like this when I’m fairly lucid, not feeling hopeless and not wanting to just go to sleep, I feel like it’s my duty to point out all the things I perceive as being wrong in the world, starting with myself. So I’m trying to change the way I choose to react to certain things, especially when it concerns a viewpoint of mine that I am unwilling to part with. Nobody is right 100% of the time. In fact the older I get the more I realise that number gets closer and closer to single digits. I used to believe that adults knew what they were doing. That was the established paradigm when I was a kid – grown ups know better, and the perception I held for a long time was that yes this was indeed the case. Adults have it figured out.

So why the fuck can’t I figure anything out? Why am I, now an adult, feeling so goddamn confused all the time. What went wrong?

Something did go wrong otherwise I wouldn’t be depressed, I still haven’t figured out what that is yet, but what I’m trying (very badly) to say is that nobody knows what they are doing. Everyone is winging it, some more than others. It seems to me from casual observation  that those who are willing to let go of firmly held beliefs in favour of a more enlightened, more fluid path tend to be those that are happiest with their lot in life. Now I’m not advocating that you do a Descartes and reject everything you hold to be true, but there are probably one or two things that if you really thought hard about, you could live without (and if you are a fundamentalist religious person of any faith then there approximately a fuck ton of things you will need to let go).

Listen to what other human beings have to say, sometimes they are very wise. Conversely, approach what other human beings vocal on the Internet have to say with some trepidation, do not blindly follow – figure shit out for yourself, look at every facet, then create your opinion.

There are too many close minded fools out there with very loud voices. Unfortunately people tend to listen to the loud ones. That’s something that’s wrong with the world.

f.

I write nonsense so you don't have to. Although you can if you want...

